Indonesian Athlete Wins Gold Medal at Jordan Table Tennis Championship

Indonesian table tennis paralympic athlete, Adyos Astan (center) won two medals at the Al-Watani Table Tennis Championship (photo: Indonesian Embassy Amman)

Amman, MINA – Indonesian table tennis paralympic athlete, Adyos Astan, won two medals at the 11th Al-Watani Table Tennis Championship (Jordan Open) held by International Table Tennis Federation April 8-10 2019, at Al-Husein Sport City, Amman.

As stated in the press release of Indonesian Embassy in Amman on Saturday, Adyos appeared in the Wheel Chair category in 4-5 team numbers and won a gold medal after defeating his opponents, including the leading team athlete from Norway.

In addition to obtaining a gold medal in the team number, Adyos also won a silver medal in the singles number.

The medal was carried out directly by Prince Marad bin Raad representing the Royal Jordanian Family, in his capacity as Chair of Jordanian Council for the Protection of Rights of Persons with Disabilities.

Unlike competition system in general, the Table Tennis Tournament uses the Round Robin match system, so that one country will meet with all other participating countries in the same class category.

Adyos expressed that he was quite satisfied, especially for the success of defeating a number of athletes with a world ranking who better than him. Adyos itself is currently in the rank 15th position in the world.

For Adyos, this championship is a warm-up in preparation for the upcoming 2020 Tokyo Paralympics.

Ambassador of the Republic of Indonesia on Amman, Andy Rachmianto, who was present at the top of the competition, expressed his high pride at Adyos’s achievements that made Indonesia famous on the world.

“Adyos has shown that physical limitations are not an obstacle to make achievements. This achievement reminds us of the importance of hard work and never giving up to achieve success, “said Andy in his written statement.

The World Championship of Al-Watani Table Tennis is held regularly every year in Amman. In this year, 13 countries have taken part, including Turkey, Iran, India, Malaysia, Norway, Nigeria, Belgium and the host Jordan. (R/Sj/R04)

Mi’raj News Agency (MINA)