Indonesian Government Sets 1 Shawwal 1440 H Fall on Wednesday June 5

Minister of Religion Lukman Hakim Saifuddin with Chairman of MUI KH Yusnar Yusuf and Chair of Commission VIII of the House of Representatif (special)

Jakarta, MINA – Indonesian government stipulated 1 Shawwal or Eid Al-Fitr 1440 Hijriah falls on Wednesday, June 5. It is based on the results of Islamic congregation conducted by Ministry of Religion along with number of parties on monitoring hilal from 33 provinces in Indonesia.

“1 Syawal 1440 Hijrah falls on Wednesday, June 5, 2019,” said Minister of Religion Lukman Hakim Saifuddin in Jakarta, Monday, June 3.

He said that there were 105 locations monitoring the hilal which were spread in 33 provinces of Indonesia. At each point, Ministry of Religion sent rukyatul hilal officers in collaboration with regional office and mass organizations. From this observation, the hilal is not clearly visible and still below the 2 degree position.

“The position of new moon is under the horizon, so when that happens, this year’s Ramadan is fulfilled to 30 days. Therefore, tomorrow we are still fasting, “said Lukman.

The Eid Al-Fitr Session was attended by Falak Science experts, Islamic organizations, Echelon I and II Officials of Ministry of Religion, and the Hisab and Rukyat teams.

In addition, there was also Meteorology, Climatology and Geophysics Agency (BMKG), National Aeronautics and Space Institute (Lapan), Geospatial Information Agency (BIG), and the Planetarium.

It is also attended by ambassadors from friendly countries, Chairman of Commission VIII of DPR, Supreme Court, and Indonesian Ulema Council (MUI).

Previously, the participants listened to the exposure of Ministry of Religion’s Reckoning Team and Rukyat about the position of hilal astronomically towards the beginning of Syawal 1440 H.

For this decision, then 1 Shawwal 1440 H was determined by government along with the decision of Muhammadiyah Islamic organizations.

That way, this evening is the last Tarawih Prayer of Ramadan this year. (T/Sj/R04)

Mi’raj News Agency (MINA)