The 2nd Bangsamoro Plebiscite Held Successfully

Lanao del Norte, MINA – The Philippine General Election Commission (Comelec) said the plebiscite for the second round of Bangsamoro Organic Law (BOL) had been held successfully despite there were a bombing incident in Lanao del Norte.

According to local media Philstar, James Jimenez, a spokesman for Comelec, said the participation rate was almost 75 percent of total voters.

“So far, this seems to be a very successful election. Of course, if something happens at the last minute, that will determine the whole exercise. But with caution in mind, it works so far,” he said in a Interview, as reported by Anadolu Agency (AA)

Jimenez said they could not determine whether the bombing was related to the election, but noted that the time was “ridiculous” because it happened the day before the plebiscite.

The plebiscite covers all of Lanao del Norte Province except Iligan City and 67 barangay (sub-district level) in seven cities in North Cotabato.

Jimenez noted that all polling stations in the two provinces were opened and functioned at 8:30 a.m. local time.

He added that the distribution of electoral equipment went smoothly, without problems, unlike the January 21 plebiscite in the city of Cotabato, where voting was postponed because the teachers retreated on the plebiscite day.

The election took place unimpeded, despite heavy rains in parts of Lanao del Norte.

Jimenez stated that when there were persistent rumors about the Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF) fighters entering the provinces, but until the end of the implementation there were no unwanted incidents.

The Philippine National Police Director General (PNP) Oscar Albayalde made a statement despite three explosions that hit three cities in Lanao del Norte.

“Everything is peaceful,” he said in a television interview.

Albayalde personally oversaw the implementation of security measures in the two provinces to ensure that there were no incidents when voters went to the polls.

As 7,312 police personnel secured 4,479 polling stations in both provinces. (T/Sj/P2)

Mi’raj News Agency (MINA)