Malaysia, Qatar, Indonesia, Turkey, Pakistan to Hold Islamic Summit

Kuala Lumpur, MINA – Malaysian Prime Minister Mahathir Mohamad announced the establishment of a Limited Islamic Summit consisting of five countries, namely Malaysia, Qatar, Indonesia, Turkey, and Pakistan which will hold its first meeting on 19 December this year.

Mahathir said the summit was formed as the beginning of Islamic cooperation in order to solve the problems faced by Muslim world, thus quoted from Palestinian Information Center (Palinfo) on Friday.

The problems include economic development, defense, preservation of sovereignty, cultural values, freedom, and justice as well as protection of modern technology.

Responding to Al Jazeera’s television questions, Mahatir said the upcoming Kuala Lumpur Summit would discuss new strategies to address the problems facing the Muslim world, including reasons for its inability to end ongoing Israeli aggression against Palestinian people.

Mahathir also said at the end of July, Islamic civilization could be promoted again by cooperation between countries in the context of challenges facing Muslim countries in the world.

In his press statement together with Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan in Ankara, Mahatir said by uniting our thoughts and abilities, we could advance the great Islamic civilization that ever existed. (T/Sj/P2)

Mi’raj News Agency (MINA)